LPN Weekly - 8/17/14

Jackson Wins 2014 Brokers International, Ltd. Iowa Open

A 23-year-old playing in just his third professional tournament won the 2014 Brokers International, Ltd. Iowa Open Sunday. Dylan Jackson of Kohler, Wis., won the event with a three-day score of 201, 15 strokes under par. Nate McCoy of West Des Moines was two strokes back to take second place. Gene Elliott, also of West Des Moines, took first place in the amateur professional division with a score of 211, five under par.

Javier Sanchez of Fayetteville, Ga., topped the senior professional division with a 204, matching a 204 by Joe Palmer of West Des Moines as the top senior amateur. Sanchez won a playoff with Palmer, scoring an eagle on the second hole to take home the senior trophy. Both John Dinnebier, LPN general manager, and Gary Babcock, LPN head pro, made the cut after the first two days to advance to the final day of play.

During the awards ceremony on the 18th green, Kelly McCarty announced Brokers International, Ltd. will again sponsor the Iowa Open in 2015. This year's tournament was the last under a five-year agreement, so its future had been uncertain. LeRoy Oxley, who has been tournament director for those five years, said this is his last year as director. He thanked committee chairs and volunteers for helping make the tournament a success. More tournament results online here.

LPN Women Take Third in Net Division at State Competition

The team of Denise Norwood, Deb Douglass, Susan Greiner and Kathy Moline represented the LPN Aug. 11 at the 53rd Iowa Women’s Club Team Championship. The event was held at Briarwood Golf Club in Ankeny. The LPN team took third place in the net division with a 210. There was a tie for first place between Bright Grandview Golf Club of Des Moines and Irv Warren Memorial Golf Club of Waterloo, both with scores of 209. In the gross division, the LPN team placed ninth out of 20 teams with a combined score of 265. Briarwood took first place with a 230, followed by Irv Warren in second place with a 238. Congratulations to the LPN women for a great showing!

Sadie Hawkins Couples on Friday

The 9th annual Sadie Hawkins couples event will be this Friday, with a shotgun start at 5:30 p.m.. This is a two-person best-shot event. Women must invite a man other than her husband to be on her two-person team. Sign up as a two-person team, and you may request to play with another team. Cost is $10 per team. A member can invite a non-member guest, which bumps the team cost to $35. Register by calling the pro shop - 755-2024.

15th Solheim Cup August 24

The 15th annual Solheim Cup for LPN women will be next Sunday. Captains Carole Peterson and Jody Babcock will have 48 recruits competing in the "Battle by Boulder Beach" that day. A kickoff with hors d'oeuvres will follow women's league play on Thursday.

Birdhouse Boogie Couples on Labor Day

The 14th annual Birdhouse Boogie Couples tournament will be Sept. 1, with a shotgun start at 12:30 p.m. The four-person couples best-shot event costs $30 per couple for LPN members, and $90 per couple for non-members. The fee covers golf, dinner and prizes. A new rule this year allows anyone 70 and older to play from the forward tees. Register in the pro shop.

31 Players in Junior Ryder Cup

A total of 31 competitors participated in the 6th annual LPN Junior Ryder Cup last Tuesday morning. Results of the nine-hole matches are available online. Captains for 2015 will be Trey Cobb and Mitchell Wagler.

More Ryder Cup Results

A week ago, the team led by Jack Beavers defeated the team led by Ed McCollom in the Irv Gerlich Memorial Ryder Cup, with Beavers' team collecting 49 1/2 points to McCollom's 42 1/2 points. Beavers won the Larry Bergemann award, a "most valuable player" honor bestowed annually on the person who earns the maximum three points, plus has the lowest net score during Friday's competition. The LPN employee shootout was won by Zach Hammerberg and Larry Kleinwolterink. Nathan Parker and Bruce Ahrendsen captured the member shootout. The 2015 Ryder Cup captains will be Bruce Ahrendsen and Rod Knudsen.

Upcoming Events

August 22: Sadie Hawkins Couples
August 24: Solheim Cup
August 27: Men's League Final Shootout
September 1: Birdhouse Boogie
September 4: Women's League Final Shootout